News Ticker

Shortlist of 85 buildings announced for RIBA London Awards 2017

A total of 85 buildings across the capital have been shortlisted for an RIBA London Regional Award this year.

A total of 215 schemes were entered for the London awards in 2017 – up 30 on last year’s submissions. Throughout April all shortlisted schemes will be visited by one of five London juries.

The winners of this year’s RIBA London Regional Awards will be announced at an awards ceremony at the RIBA, 66 Portland Place, on Monday 22 May.

The buildings that have been shortlisted are:

  • 1 King William Street, AHMM
  • 131 Sloane Street, Stiff + Trevillion
  • Mixed Use Scheme, Bermondsey, Hampson Williams Ltd
  • Private House, North London, Alan Higgs Architects
  • Shepherd’s Bush Road, ColladoCollins Architects with LOM Architects (interiors)
  • 2 Orchard Place, NGArchitecture

2 Orchard Place by NGArchitecture

  • 30 Cannon Street, Delvendahl Martin LLP
  • 40 Chancery Lane, Bennetts Associates
  • 5-7 St Helen’s Place with The Leathersellers’ Hall, Eric Parry Architects
  • 55 Victoria Street, Stiff + Trevillion with Pozzoni
  • 6 Wood Lane, Birds Portchmouth Russum Architects
  • 8 Finsbury Circus, WilkinsonEyre
  • Ansdell Street, Studio Seilern Architects
  • Barretts Grove, Amin Taha + Groupwork

Barretts Grove by Amin Taha + Groupwork

  • Belarusian Memorial Chapel, Spheron Architects
  • Boxpark Croydon, BDP
  • Brentford Lock West, Mikhail Riches Ltd with Cathy Hawley
  • Private House, East London, Hugh Strange Architects
  • Cork Study, Surman Weston
  • Dujardin Mews, Karakusevic Carson with Maccreanor Lavington
  • Feilden Fowles’ Studio, Feilden Fowles Architects
  • Foundry Mews, Project Orange

Foundry Mews by Project Orange

  • Francis Crick Institute, HOK with PLP Architecture
  • Google Pancras Square, AHMM
  • Grand Union Studios – The Ladbroke Grove, AHMM
  • Hackney New School, Henley Halebrown
  • Hafer Road, Peter Barber Architects with Mark Fairhurst Architects
  • Hidden House, LTS Architects
  • Hidden House, Coffey Architects
  • Highgate House, Carmody Groarke
  • Highgate Junior School, Architype

Highgate Junior School, Architype

  • Hindsman Yard, Foster Lomas
  • Home Studio, Kilburn Lane, Studio McLeod
  • House in Coombe Park, Eldridge London
  • Kings College School, Allies and Morrison
  • Kings Gate and the Zig Zag Building, Lynch Architects
  • Lock Keepers, Allies and Morrison
  • Marie’s Wardrobe, Tsuruta Architects
  • Mathematics – The Winton Gallery, Zaha Hadid Architects
  • New Cancer Centre at Guy’s Hospital, Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners
  • New Ludgate, Fletcher and Priest Architects with Sauerbruch Hutton
  • New Scotland Yard, AHMM
  • New Studios, Wimbledon College of Arts; Penoyre and Prasad
  • No. 49, 31/44 Architects
  • One Ruskin Square, Shed KM
  • Orsino Building, Uxbridge High School, AndArchitects
  • Paradise Gardens, Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands

Paradise Gardens, Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands

  • Park Heights, PRP
  • Park House, 31/44 Architects
  • Peabody Cleverly Estate, Lyndon Goode Architects
  • Photography Studio for Juergen Teller, 6a architects
  • Queen’s Court, Child Graddon Lewis
  • Redchurch Street, vPPR Architects
  • Riverwalk, Stanton Williams
  • Salesian House, MSMR Architects
  • Salter’s Hall, DeMetz Forbes Knight Architects
  • Science Museum Research Centre, Coffey Architects
  • Silchester, Haworth Tompkins
  • Southwark Town Hall and Theatre Peckham, Jestico + Whiles
  • St Benedicts School, van Heyningen and Haward Architects

St Benedicts School, van Heyningen and Haward Architects

  • St John’s Hill, Burridge Gardens, Phase 01; Hawkins\Brown
  • Sun Rain Room, Tonkin Liu
  • Tapestry Building, Niall McLaughlin Architects with Weedon Partnership
  • Tara Theatre, Aedas Arts Team
  • Tate Modern Switch House, Herzog & de Meuron
  • The Bartlett School of Architecture, Hawkins\Brown
  • The British Museum World Conservation and Exhibitions Centre, Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners
  • The Cooperage, Chris Dyson Architects
  • The Cube Building, Hawkins\Brown
  • The Design Museum and Holland Green; OMA with Allies and Morrison and John Pawson.
  • The Green Nunhead, AOC Architecture Ltd
  • The Laboratory, Dulwich College, Grimshaw
  • The Layered Gallery, Gianni Botsford Architects Ltd
  • The Library at Willesden Green, AHMM
  • The Lighthouse, King’s Cross; Latitude Architects
  • The Loom, Duggan Morris Architects 

The Loom, Duggan Morris Architects

  • Tyers Street, Cabinet Gallery; Trevor Horne Architects
  • Upper Richmond Road, AHMM
  • Valentino London, David Chipperfield
  • Vantage Point, GRID architects
  • Walmer Yard, Peter Salter and Associates with Mole Architects and John Comparelli Architects.
  • Wedderburn Road, Finkernagel Ross 

Wedderburn Road, Finkernagel Ross

  • West Croydon Bus Station, Transport for London
  • Whole House, Hayhurst and Co.
  • Windsor Walk, A21 Architects

All shortlisted schemes will be visited and assessed by one of the five London juries working across the West, North, East, South East and South West areas of London.

Regional Award winners will be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, the results of which will be announced in June.

The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings later in the year.